CofC Logo


Rewarding students for jobs well-done

Students of Classics have the opportunity to be considered for a number of scholarships, awarded by the Department of Classics faculty. Decisions on scholarships are made in the spring for the following academic year, and are dependent upon the availabilty of funds.

Harold A. Mouzon Scholarship

The Mouzon Scholarship, established by Mrs. Elizabeth Mouzon Sadler, Class of 1946, in memory of her father Harold A. Mouzon, Class of 1913, a distinguished alumnus and former Board of Trustees Chairman, recognizes outstanding students who are majoring in Classics, minoring in Greek or Latin, or are candidates for the A.B. degree. The scholarship is awarded annually, and may be renewed.

Johnson-Vest Scholarship

The Johnson-Vest Scholarship, established by Lucia Johnson Vest and Edward Nelson Vest in honor of Irene Ebert Johnson and George Arthur Ziozias Johnson who instilled in their children a love of Greek and Roman culture, encourages students to study Latin and Greek. Scholarships are awarded to students majoring in Classics, and may be renewed.

Robert H. Duryea, Jr. Memorial Scholarship

The Duryea Scholarship was created by Emma-Louise Duryea Mellichamp, class of 1937, in honor of her brother Robert H. Duryea, Jr., first honors graduate of the Class of 1927. Scholarships are awarded to students majoring in the Classical languages, with preference given to those studying Latin. Awards may be renewed.